Ok

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. These ensure the smooth running of our services. Learn more.

Jun 05, 2013

Omni brings full-body VR gaming to Kickstarter

I am really excited about this new interest in Virtual Reality, since I have been a fan of this technology for quite some time.

The latest news is that the virtual reality gaming device Omni launched a funding campaign Tuesday in Kickstarter and in few hours, more than doubled its goal of $150,000!

Omni Kickstarter

Used in tandem with the Oculus Rift and motion controller Razer Hydra, it potentially offers an unprecedented degree of immersion.

It's also a good news that VR hardware has been dropping dramaticaly in price in the last couple of years - I am thinking about at the incredible value-for-money of the Oculus Rift (dev kit: $300, consumer version: unknown - rumored <$300).

I had the privilege of trying out the Oculus (thanks to my friend Giuseppe, who got one in advance by supporting the project on Kickstarter) and I must say, it's just AMAZING.

The last time I had this feeling it was when I tested a CAVE system for the first time, during my internship at the CCVR. And now, 10 years after my first encounter with immersive VR, I am just as excited as then and look forward to try all novelties that are coming in very soon.

The comments are closed.